Conference of County Court
     Judges of Florida

201 SE 6th Street, #335
Ft. Lauderdale, FL. 33301
(954) 831-7675

Inside This Issue!

Minutes of Board Meeting

Dade & Monroe News

Committee Reports

Education Report

Ignition Interlock Devices&
Civil Jury Management

DUI Update& Merit Selection
Article Re: Merit Selection

Letter from the Editor,
"Thank you" from Judge Grube
Artist Lydia Friedman


Eugene Turner

Jeff Colbath
Past President

Hubert L. Grimes

Nancy L. Pollock

Leonard Feiner
Courier Editor

Peggy Gehl


Richard Townsend

Jimmy Dominguez

Beth Bloom

Joel Lazarus

A.B. Majeed

logo.jpg (10463 bytes)

The President's Message
by Judge Eugene Turner

     g-turner.jpg (4112 bytes)The Summer Conference of County Court Judges in Naples was filled with poolside sun tanning, waterside shopping and 3rd Street dining for our families. We were entertained with perhaps our best education session ever presented by the Education Committee chaired by Judge Beth Bloom of Dade County. The committees brought to our almost 200 participants the traditional dynamic Judge Dave Demers with his DUI update. Palm Beach County Court Judge Peter Evans and Pinellas County Judge Karl Grube presented their traditional comic civil law update known as the “Peter and Karl Show,” Justice Penny J. White, formerly of the Tennessee Supreme Court, spoke on the realities of merit selection and retention of judges, and Palm Beach County Judge Nelson Bailey presented a history of Florida’s Judiciary during which you could hear the “Crack-Crack-Crack” of an old Florida cow whip.
          The Education Committee members can be assured they have presented an exceptional program when standing ovations from an audience of judges become a daily event. To the hard-working presenters and Education Committee members, the conference thanks you.
         In addition to our Educational sponsors, I would like to extend my sincere appreciation to 11th Judicial Circuit Chief Judge Joseph Farina and the Collier County Sheriff’s Department Bailiff Bureau and Honor Guard for their participation in the swearing in reception on Thursday, July 15. I am confident that everyone who attended the reception enjoyed the entertainment as well as the meal.
     The Conference continues its recognition of a Florida judge who represents the ideal of today’s judiciary through its presentation of the Harvey Ford Award. This year’s recipient is a past Conference manager, past Conference president, and a past national chair of the ABA Specialty Courts Committee. He received his masters in Judicial Studies from the National Judicial College, is a member of the Faculty Council of the National Judicial College, and continues to lecture at the National Judicial College. Further, he is a Judicial Fellow with the National Traffic Safety Administration for Traffic Education Programs and he has recently revised the Magistrate Training Program for his county, Pinellas. Congratulations to the 1999 recipient of the Harvey Ford Award, Judge Karl Grube.
     The 1999 Fall Executive Board and Committee meeting will be held in the Florida Panhandle for the first time in over a decade. It is this pre-conference preparation that has been an essential ingredient to our conference's exceptional education success. Please make every effort to bring your energy and ideas to our October 20-22, 1999 meeting in Pensacola.

     See you there.